National Traffic System OK (NTSOK) Operation

NTS NetsNTS LocalNTSOK WinlinkNTSOK OrganizationNTSOK Winlink SoftwareNTSOK Radiogram

The most important parts of the NTSOK operation are the people that make it happen. Each of the ‘backbone’ operators uses their time, talent, and equipment to maintain contact with the network and each other.

Local RMS Connections

As shown in the attachments, we are currently experiencing good connections with 80 M RMS in the 0 to 300 km range. This type of connection is made using Near Vertical Incidence Skywave (NVIS) operation where the signals bounce straight up and down to reach the remote station. Jeff Scoville’s AE5ME RMS in Tulsa is a good connection point for 80 M.

For 40 M operation, a range of 650 km is found to be optimal. For those of us in Oklahoma, we have had great luck connecting to RMSs in Collinsville, IL, Colorado, Iowa, Autin, and San Antonio.

As an NTSOK operator, you should locate four stations that allow easy connections. In a disaster time, one or more of the RMS stations may be down, or busy, so having multiple paths will allow you to keep passing traffic.

Incoming NTS Traffic

NTSOK has made arrangements with Radio Relay International and the 7290 Traffic Net to receive inbound messages to the network. The state traffic handler forwards these messages to the proper ARESOK district for local delivery.

ARES has created this Oklahoma map to break down the state into 12 districts. Once the message has reached the district level, the district traffic handler will work to deliver the message to the recipient. The district traffic handler can deliver the message to a local traffic net, or contact the person directly using email, phone, or a direct contact.

Outgoing NTS Traffic

When someone creates an outgoing message, in radiogram format, meant to be delivered by NTSOK, they simply need to use the email address of NTSOK. Winlink routes those messages to the Section Traffic Handlers who will forward them to the proper route.

Intrastate Messages

Messages that are meant for delivery within the section are forwarded to the appropriate Section District mailbox by Section Traffic Handlers. District Traffic Handlers pick up those messages and route them to the proper destination.

NTSOK Section Traffic Handlers use the 12 ARES Districts to route the intrastate traffic to the following email addresses

  • NTSOK-DIST01 – Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woodward, Ellis, Dewey, Roger Mills, and Custer counties.
  • NTSOK-DIST02 – Woods, Alfalfa, Grant, Major, Garfield, Blaine, and Kingfisher counties.
  • NTSOK-DIST03 – Beckham, Washita, Harmon, Greer, Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Comanche, Cotton, Jefferson, and Love counties.
  • NTSOK-DIST04 – Caddo, Grady, McClain, Stephens, Garvin, and Carter counties.
  • NTSOK-DIST05 – Canadian, Oklahoma, and Cleveland counties.
  • NTSOK-DIST06 – Logan, Lincoln, and Pottowatomi counties.
  • NTSOK-DIST07 – Tulsa, Creek, and Okmulgee counties.
  • NTS-DIST08 – Rogers, Wagoner, and Muskogee counties.
  • NTS-DIST09 – Kay, Osage, Washington, Nowata, Noble, Pawnee, and Payne counties.
  • NTS-DIST10 – Craig, Ottowa, Mayes, Delaware, Cherokee, Adair, and Sequoyah counties.
  • NTS-DIST11 – Okfuskee, Seminole, Hughes, Pontotoc, Coal, Murray, Johnston, Atoka, Marshall, and Bryan counties.
  • NTS-DIST12 – McIntosh, Haskell, Pittsburg, Latimer, Le Flore, Pushmataha, Choctaw, and McCurtain counties.

Interstate Messages

Messages that are meant for delivery outside the section will be forwarded to either the Radio Relay International regional inboxes, or to the 7290 Traffic Net inbox. NTSOK has made arrangements with both of those groups to take NTS traffic and they will distribute the messages to their final destination.

Radio Relay International

More information about Radio Relay International is available at

RRI uses 13 different regions to route traffic across the country. The regions are defined by state lines. Note that these regions do not match the 10 FCC callsign districts. The email boxes are shown below for each of the states listed.

  • RRI-Region1 – CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT
  • RRI-Region2 – NJ, NY
  • RRI-Region3 – DC, DE, MD, PA
  • RRI-Region4 – FL, GA, NC, SC, VA, PR, VI
  • RRI-Region5 – AL, AR, LA, MS, OK, TN, TX
  • RRI-Region6 – CA, NV
  • RRI-Region7 – AK, ID, MT, OR, WA, AB, BC
  • RRI-Region8 – MI, OH, WV
  • RRI-Region9 – IL, IN, KY, WI
  • RRI-Region10 – IA, KS, MN, MO, ND, NE, SD, MB, SK
  • RRI-Region11 – NB, NS, ON, PQ
  • RRI-Region12 – AZ, CO, NM, UT, WY
  • WH6FQE – Hawaii

7290 Traffic Net

More information about the 7290 Traffic Net can be found online at

NTSOK is using the 7290 Traffic Net as a secondary delivery system. This group uses phone and CW nets to transport messages once they receive them. Messages sent to Winlink mailbox KA5AZK will be entered into the 7290 Traffic Net system.